« We don't Type or Word Process here... | Main | Linux ... a genuine advantage? »

July 05, 2007

From Allofmp3 to NoneofMP3

You might have heard that the cheap Russian music site Allofmp3.com, which we helped bring to world prominence, has been shut down by Russian authorities. It didn't trouble us much, because the credit card companies had already made it impossible to make payments, so our account was running on empty, and we'd been able to switch over to MP3Sparks.com.

For the past couple of days, however, we weren't able to log in to MP3Sparks. And this morning the site seems to have disappeared. It seems the vile music industry and their lickspittle politician cronies have won. For now.

UPDATE (Friday): As Ozzypod notes in the comments, AllTunes, that truly remarkable program, is accepting the old log-ins, and is handling orders and downloads.

ANOTHER UPDATE (Saturday morning): Now AllTunes isn't accepting orders. Either Allofmp3 is heading further underground, or their servers have buckled under the weight of additional traffic. When my column on the topic went international, back in 2004, they were off the air for a week or so, but Allofmp3 go back up, as they've done every time they've seemed defeated. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Posted by cw at July 5, 2007 01:43 PM

Trackback Pings

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://bleedingedge.com.au/cgi-bin/mt/mt-tb.cgi/1329

Comments

Alltunes is still working. I d/l 2 albums this morning.

Others are reporting still being able to top up from alltunes: see http://www.aom3.org/forum/

Posted by: Ozzypod at July 6, 2007 04:18 PM

This is going to sound quite blunt, but why bother with sites like allofmp3?
If you want the warm and fuzzy feeling of buying digital music legally then go to itunes or some other legitimate music download site. If you don't care, and want to "stick it to the man," then go to one of a thousand torrent sites and download the same albums for free.
Allofmp3 and similar sites obviously aren't sending any royalties to the artists - they're either keeping all the money for themselves, or paying the Russian government some money (a bribe?) in an effort to look legitimate. In using them, you're effectively sending money to someone in order to download illegal music.
I really don't see the point.

Posted by: Luke at July 8, 2007 03:51 PM

A while ago someone recommended this site:

http://www.legalsounds.com/

Haven't tried it but I love the name.

The site was live at the time of posting. Alas, allofmp3.com was not.

Posted by: Ablaze [TypeKey Profile Page] at July 9, 2007 12:15 AM

Post a comment




Remember Me?



(you may use HTML tags for style)